CIM + MOCA: Suddenly It’s Evening

March 20, 2014 / 7:30pm

Free for MOCA members and CIM students
(with valid student ID)
$8 for General Admission

Guests will have access to the galleries with admission

The Cleveland Institute of Music’s New Music Ensemble, directed by Keith Fitch, returns to MOCA to present a special evening of music inspired by the act of “giving up the ghost.” The program features Madrigals, Books II & III by George Crumb, Suddenly It’s Evening by Donald Erb and Cortège by Harrison Birtwistle. Each work reflects on the composers’ experiences with death, providing a fitting counterpoint to MOCA’s exhibition Dirge. MOCA’s galleries and its Gund Commons will be transformed into dynamic performance spaces, creating an engaging dialogue between art, architecture, and music.
A pre-concert reception begins at 7:30 PM; the concert starts at 8 PM.
Website of the CIM New Music Ensemble:
George Crumb’s website: